Worm’s Eye View

 
I love to wriggle through loam, my home;

I enjoy stretching through the soil, my toil.

I am not a stick in the mud, m’lud!

I am Worm – earthy, honest, tiller of land.

My band work tirelessly, day and night –

Make roots grow deep, shoots sprout towards the light.

 

Woodworm, wormhole, bookworm, earworm, wormwood.

 

This worm is for turning

over new leaves.

For turning the sod over and over

Burrowing,

Fertilising,

Nourishing.

All that was solid, I break down.

 

Blackbird hears worm’s earthy song

Dances to the beat, claws stamp along.

Vibrations travel through the soil

Earthworm, excited, starts to uncoil.

Squirms through the black earth

Surfaces – to an outstretched beak.

 

Worming, wormery, blindworm, worm food, meal worm, earthworm.

 

Protesting – pulled from the ground.

Blackbird puts an end to his wormy sound.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment